True Blue

(30 Jun 1986)


1986's "True Blue" was a mammoth worldwide success. The set reached No. 1 in the U.S. and 27 other countries (at the time unprecedented for a female artist) and spawned five smash singles. The lead-off track, "Live To Tell," hit No. 1 in the U.S. and was followed by four more top five tracks: "Papa Don't Preach" (No. 1), "True Blue" (No. 3), "Open Your Heart" (No. 1) and "La Isla Bonita" (No. 4). The album cemented her chart domination in the U.K., where "Papa Don't Preach," "True Blue" and "La Isla Bonita" all hit No. 1. Produced by Madonna, Stephen Bray and Patrick Leonard, the album garnered her second Grammy award nomination. "Papa Don't Preach" scored a nod for Female Pop Vocal Performance. "True Blue" is Madonna's biggest selling studio album worldwide, with estimated sales at 19 million.

Billboard Chart Peak: 1
Total Weeks On Chart: 82

Billboard chart positions used with permission from Billboard magazine. Billboard material used is copyrighted and trademarked by VNU Business Media, Inc. and is used with permission. None of this material can be reused

Warner Bros.
Recorded At
Track List And Lyrics
    DISC NO: 1
  1. Papa Don't Preach Lyrics
  2. Open Your Heart Lyrics
  3. White Heat Lyrics
  4. Live to Tell Lyrics
  5. Where's the Party Lyrics
  6. True Blue Lyrics
  7. La Isla Bonita Lyrics
  8. Jimmy, Jimmy Lyrics
  9. Love Makes the World Go Round Lyrics